Posts Tagged ‘creativeLIVE’

Leave Summer Behind with this Snowy How-To from Joey L.

Written by M. Gertz on . Posted in Education

Bookmark and Share

profoto recommends joey l Leave Summer Behind with this Snowy How To from Joey L.

For his creativeLIVE broadcast, much loved portrait photographer Joey L. decided to try something he hadn’t done before, taking portraits of “arctic explorers” in a completely man-made, indoor blizzard.

On his blog, Joey details how he got the shot with behind the scenes pics, a lighting diagram, and some insight into his thought process. Although the shoot looks complicated, he used 5 Pro-B Heads, 3 Pro-8a packs, and a variety of lighting modifiers, he explains how every piece has its place.

He says, “Even with a photo as ‘complex’ as these blizzard portraits, when you break it down piece by piece, light by light, and effect by effect, it becomes quite simple. As I say in the creativeLIVE broadcast, if you can fully understand the way one light is affecting your image, it’s likely that you can understand one million lights.”

Read the full post on Joey L’s blog and check out the course on creativeLIVE. Connect with him on twitter, facebook, and google+.

 

All images and quotes in this post are used with permission and ©Joey L, all rights reserved; story is ©Profoto. Please respect and support photographers’ rights. Feel free to link to this blog post, but please do not replicate or re-post elsewhere without written permission.

Learn Wedding Photography the Marcus Bell Way

Written by Fredrik Franzén on . Posted in Events

Bookmark and Share

The name Marcus Bell might ring a bell. (No pun intended.) If not, here is a short recap: Marcus is one of Australia’s most awarded and published photographer, he was chosen by PopPhoto as one of the ten best wedding photographers in the world, and (last but not least) he was featured on our blog not too long ago.

Starting tomorrow, Marcus will host a three-day CreativeLive event in Seattle during which Marcus promises to teach you “wedding photography the Marcus Bell way.” The workshop will cover everything from what makes a good photograph and different lighting set ups to postproduction techniques and tips and tricks on how to make it in the business.

If you are nearby, you should check it out. If not, you can always tune in on the web.

  • Date: Tomorrow
  • Time: 18:00 CET (9:00 LA, 12:00 NY, 17:00 London, 18:00 Paris, 00:00 Beijing, 01:00 Tokyo, 03:00 Sydney)

Read more and enroll here.

Doug Gordon creativeLIVE Event on Posing

Written by Ron Egatz on . Posted in Videos

Bookmark and Share

DougGordon 580x331 Doug Gordon creativeLIVE Event on Posing

Doug Gordon will be hosting a three-day weekend workshop via creativeLIVE featuring his unique flow posing system. Gordon will demonstrate his system of moving from one pose to another in order to create 30-50 completely different poses within a few minutes.

Everything from the plus-size subject, to different heights, races, nationalities and people with disabilities will be covered across all types of people photography, from weddings to portraits. Posing types included will be boudoir, maternity, trash the dress, teens, weddings, groups, and others.

If the posing isn’t enough, Doug will go through all types of lighting situations showing everything from a Flashpoint Cool Light to a Nikon Speed Light, and everything in between. Doug will also explain his studio workflow for over 1,000 weddings a year and nearly 5,000 portraits. The best part is it’s LIVE and FREE if you watch during the 3-day live broadcast starting this Thursday, 10/11 at 9am PST!